Structured Cabling

Here at Cairn Solutions our engineers are currently utilising Category 5e, Category 6 and Category 7 in our installations. As Cairn Solutions is one of the leading innovators in IP Integration, it helps that we have our own team of infrastructure specialists.

  • Cat 5e Cable:
    An enhanced version of Cat 5 for use with 1000BASE-T (gigabit) networks, or for long-distance 100 Base-T links (350 m, compared with 100 m for Cat 5). It must meet the EIA/TIA 568A-5 specification. Virtually all cables sold as Cat 5 are actually Cat 5e. The markings on the cable itself reveal the exact type.
  • Cat 6 Cable:
    Defined by the ANSI TIA/EIA 568B-2.1. It is suitable for 1000 Base-T Ethernet up to 100 m.
  • Cat 7 Cable:
    Four individually-shielded pairs (ScTP) inside an overall shield, has been proposed but is not in common use. It is designed for transmission frequencies up to 600MHz, which should enable it to carry 10-Gigabit Ethernet (10GBaseT), but requires a redesigned RJ-45 connector (called a GG45) to achieve this speed. Also in development are standards such as Tera from Siemon. Tera, which does not maintain compatibility with RJ-45, promises transmission frequencies of up to 1200 MHz. 10GBaseT networks are not yet widely available, and may not be able to compete with fibre optic networks.
  • Wiring
    RJ-45 modular jack pins are numbered 1 through 8 as shown: